Flatfoot 56

Name: Flatfoot 56

Country: USA

Formed in: 2000

Status: Active

Playing a positive-natured brand of hardcore-tinged Celtic punk, Flatfoot 56 has been unleashing itself upon America and the rest of the world for over 16 years now. Forming in 2000, the Chicago natives achieved nationwide attention with their first two label-backed records, 2006’s “Knuckles Up” and 2007’s “Jungle of the Midwest Sea”. These releases built on a heavy dose of previously established regional notoriety, helping the band gain steam early on.

While each record received its fair share of acclaim, the quintet exploded onto a new level with 2010’s “Black Thorn”. Landing the band on a total of 9 Billboard Charts, Flatfoot 56 proved it could consistently reach an expanding audience while treading in a genre not often associated with widespread success. This success was advanced even further with song placements in the hit TV series “Sons of Anarchy” and the video game “Watchdogs”.

After the success of “Blackthorn” Flatfoot hit the studio yet again in 2012 to record their Paper and plastic records backed “Toil” album. This album would further solidify the band as a consistent force to be reckoned with.

Frontman Tobin Bawinkel (vocals/guitar) is now set to lead Flatfoot 56 on in their furious march forward. Armed with his brother Kyle (bass), along with Eric McMahon (bagpipes/guitar), Brandon Good (mandolin/guitar/vocals) and Conrad Allsworth (Drums) , Flatfoot 56 is in the process of getting ready to release their 7th full length studio album. Flatfoot 56’s new album called “Odd Boat” was produced by Matt Allison at Atlas studios in Chicago. “We decided that since the last experience at Atlas Studios was so beneficial, we wanted to repeat it,” Bawinkel said. “We have been friends with Matt for a few years now and we love the work that he and his studio engineers do.”


Band members

  • Tobin Bawinkel – vocal, guitar
  • Kyle Bawinkel – bass, vocal
  • Conrad Allsworth – drums
  • Eric McMahon – bagpipe, guitar
  • Brandon Good – mandolin, guitar, vocal



  • Rumble of 56 (2002)
  • Waves of War (2003)
  • Knuckles Up (2004)
  • Jungle of the Midwest Sea (2007)
  • Black Thorn (2010)
  • Toil (2012)
  • Odd Boat (2017)


  • Flatfoot 56 (2001)
  • The Sounds Of Midway (2007)
  • I Believe It (2012)
  • The Vancouver Sessions (2018)


  • Flatfoot 56/ 6’10 Split EP (2015)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *