Selfish Murphy

Name: Selfish Murphy

Country: Romania

Formed in: 2011

Status: Active

The Selfish Murphy band was founded in 2011 in Transylvania (Romania). The formation chose a style of music that was till then unknown in Romania, they have been the first band that played the so called Celtic/Irish punk rock. Their songs transmit the unique feeling of celtic and irish lifestyle and the atmosphere of an irish pub. The majority of the songs are cheerful and easy to digest. In the tracklist we can find traditional irish songs which are widely popular all around the world (such as: “Drunken Sailor”, “All For Me Grog”, “Leaving Of Liverpool”, “Wild Rover”) these are played in Celtic/Irish punk version, of course there are covers that keep the trend of today’s songs (such as: Avicii – “Wake Me Up”, Avicii – “Hey Brother”, U2 – “With Or Without You”) converted in Irish folk style. These songs are supplemented with the bands’ own songs, these pieces are mainly focusing on simplicity and dynamism (“Drinking Song”, “Scottish Song”). To sum up: the band can be traced by: Cheerful songs + Beer + Party = Selfish Murphy.


Band members

  • Csiki Zoltán “Zaza” – vocal
  • Pusztai Lehel – flute, whistles
  • Martinka János – bass, mandolin
  • Péter Csanád László – guitar



  • Broad Jump (2016)
  • Another Fork in the Road (2017)
  • After Crying (2019)


  • Cheers! (2011)
  • One Beer is No Beer (2012)
  • With or Without Us (2014)
  • Dirty Bang (2015)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *