The Real McKenzies

Name: The Real McKenzies

Country: Canada

Formed in: 1992

Status: Active

The Real McKenzies is a Canadian Celtic punk band founded in 1992 and based in Vancouver, British Columbia. They are one of the founders of the Celtic punk movement, albeit 10 years after The Pogues. In addition to writing and performing original music, Real McKenzies perform traditional Scottish songs, giving them a new punk-influenced sound. They have shared stages with many other bands including Rancid, Shane MacGowan, DragStrip Riot, NOFX, Flogging Molly, Xcrosscheckx, The Misfits, Metallica, and Voodoo Glow Skulls.

Founding member Paul McKenzie has been the only consistent member of the band since its inception. The band released its second album, “Clash of the Tartans”, in 1998. McKenzie claims as many as 100 different musicians have performed as members of the band, including piper Alan “Raven” MacLeod, of the pioneering Scottish folk band The Tannahill Weavers and Bourne and MacLeod. McKenzie said in 2014 that he “fired all the Americans” in the band and returned to full Canadian lineup. Despite that claim, Aspy Luison is from Cambre, Galicia, Spain.

In September 2014 the band announced they would be recording their next album for Fat Wreck Chords at Motor Studio in San Francisco. Michael “Fat Mike” Burkett will be producing the album. On April 7, 2015 Fat Wreck Chords released The Real McKenzies’ 11th album, “Rats in the Burlap”. Their previous album, “Westwinds”, was released on March 27, 2012 with Fat Wreck Chords.

A biography of the band, written by Chris Walter and titled “Under the Kilt: The Real McKenzies Exposed”, was released in early 2015. In March, 2017 the band released their last album – “Two Devils Will Talk”.


Band members

  • Paul McKenzie – vocals
  • Aspy – bagpipes
  • Randy – guitar
  • Matt Voodoo – guitar
  • Jason – bass
  • Dustin – drums



  • The Real McKenzies (1995)
  • Clash of the Tartans (1998)
  • Loch’d and Loaded (2001)
  • Oot & Aboot (2003)
  • 10,000 Shots (2005)
  • Off the Leash (2008)
  • Westwinds (2012)
  • Rats in the Burlap (2015)
  • Two Devils Will Talk (2017)


  • Pissed Tae Th’ Gills (2002)
  • Shine Not Burn (2010)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *